The Story of the families

From Trencavel to Malafosse

ArmoiriesTrencavel.svg.png
Las Cases.jpg

Trencavel Family

Trencavel family were among the most powerful lords of the time. Beatrix of Béziers, the daughter of the last Trencavel was given the estate of Belvèze, when she married in 1305. She passed it on to her son Guillaume de Las Cases.

Las Cases

The Las Cases family owned the estate of Belvèze from 1317 to 1592. Emanuel de Las Cases who wrote a memoir and accompanied Napoléon to Saint Hélène, returned to the lands of Belvèze to put up a monument in memory of his family.

IMG_3540.jpg
IMGP5469.JPG

The Counts Dupuy de Belvèze

This family was present in the area from 1592 to 1899. We owe them the renovation of the castle in 17th century, the creation of the park and the reconstruction of the Chapel of Saint Julien. The last Count of Belvèze, Gustave Dupuy de Belvèze, a member of parliament and a writer, died without descendants in Fanjeaux.

Malafosse Family

Marcel Malafosse purchased Château Belvèze on July 23, 1899. Jean-Claude and his wife Marie-Thérèse spent several decades developing the estate. Guillaume Malafosse carried out the modernization of the winery and vineyards. The adventure continues with Charles Malafosse taking over a winery in Minervois for a few years, bottling Minervois AOC wines from 2019.

©2019 Château Belvèze.

Une histoire de familles...

Des Trencavel aux Malafosse

ArmoiriesTrencavel.svg.png
Las Cases.jpg

Les Trencavel

Les Trencavel étaient parmi les seigneurs les plus puissants. Béatrix de Béziers fille du dernier Trencavel reçu la seigneurie de Belvèze en dote pour son mariage en 1305. Elle le transmis à son fils Guillaume de Las Cases.

Las Cases

La famille Las Cases fût propriétaire de la seigneurie de Belvèze de 1317 à 1592. Emanuel de Las Cases qui écrit le Mémorial et accompagna Napoléon à Saint Hélène, revint sur les terres de Belvèze pour ériger un monument en mémoire de sa famille.

IMG_3540.jpg
IMGP5469.JPG

Les Comtes Dupuy de Belvèze

Cette famille fût présente de 1592 à 1899. On leur doit la rénovation du Château au XVIIème siècle puis la création du parc et des corps de bâtiment ainsi que la reconstruction de la chapelle de Saint Julien. Le dernier Comte de Belvèze Gustave Dupuy de Belvèze, député et écrivain, mourût sans descendance à Fanjeaux.

Les Malafosse

Marcel Malafosse achète le Château de Belvèze le 23 juillet 1899. Jean-Claude et sa femme Marie Thérèse ont développé l'exploitation pendant plusieurs décennies. Guillaume Malafosse a modernisé la cave et le vignoble. L'aventure continue avec Charles Malafosse qui reprend l'exploitation du Minervois depuis quelques années et embouteille de l'AOC Minervois depuis 2019.

©2019 Château Belvèze.