Our Grapes

Wine begins with grapes

Merlot

Merlot is a red grape with small black berries discovered at the end of 18th century. Our Cuvée Tradition wine is composed of 50% Merlot. Dark and dense in colour, with notes of red and black fruits and a superb aromatic palette - as it ages, Merlot reveals the notes of prunes, wood and spices. On the palate, it is supple with elegant tanins.

Cabernet Franc

Cabernet Franc was introduced to Malepère over 50 years ago. The wines produced from this grape are medium in colour with fine tanins and subtle aromas of red berries and spicies. Combining it with Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon boosts the wine's complexity and its aromatic bouquet. These fruity wines that can be drunk young, but some good vintages will also evolve with age.

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cabernet Sauvignon is one of the flagship grape varieties of the Malepère AOC. It enhances the wine's intensity, texture and complexity that develop during several years of aging. With its aromatic richness and notes of black fruits, violets and raspberries, it bears distinguished wines known for their long finish on the palate.

Chardonnay

Chardonnay is a white grape found in the Limoux Appellation close to Belvèze. Its golden grapes make great white wines with varied aromas and notes of citrus fruits, dried fruit and even brioche. These wines can be drunk young or preserved in the cellar.

Cinsault

Cinsault is an ancient red grape variety with white juice (likely from Provence) widespread throughout Languedoc. It produces big grape bunches with large berries and juicy flesh. These are easy to drink wines, generally with lower acidity and alcohol content, pale in colour and with aromas of red fruits such as raspberry, dried fruits and white flowers.

©2019 Château Belvèze.

Nos Cépages

Un bon vin c'est avant tout une histoire de raisins

Merlot

Le merlot est un cépage rouge, aux petites baies noires, apparu à la fin du XVIIIème siècle. Il rentre à 50% dans la composition de l'AOC Malepère. De couleur sombre et dense, avec des arômes de fruits rouges et noirs et une superbe palette aromatique, le merlot se transforme au cours de son vieillissement pour laisser place à des notes de pruneaux, de sous-bois, d’épices. En bouche, il est souple avec des tannins distingués.

Cabernet Franc

Le cabernet franc a été introduit dans la Malepère il y a plus de 50 ans. Les vins issus du cabernet franc sont de coloration moyenne avec des tannins fins, des arômes subtils de petits fruits rouges et d’épices. En assemblage avec le merlot et le cabernet-sauvignon, il confère au vin complexité et bouquet d’arômes. Il produit des vins fruités que l’on peut boire jeune mais dont les grands millésimes peuvent être de longue garde.

Cabernet Sauvignon

Le cabernet-sauvignon est un des cépages phares de l'AOC Malepère. Il donne au vin de la puissance, de la structure et une complexité qui se révélera après quelques années de garde. Doté d’une richesse aromatique aux notes de fruits noirs, de violettes, et de framboises, il produit des vins distingués, reconnus pour leur persistance en bouche.

Chardonnay

Le chardonnay est un cépage blanc que l'on retrouve dans l'appellation Limoux, voisine de Belvèze. Son raisin doré donne de grands vins blancs aux arômes variés aux notes d’agrumes, de fruits secs ou encore de brioche. Il donne des vins qui peuvent autant se boire jeunes ou se garder en cave.

Cinsault

Le cinsault est un vieux cépage noir à jus blanc, probablement originaire de Provence, il est très présent dans tout le Languedoc. Ses grappes sont grandes, composées de grosses baies à la chair très juteuse. Les vins sont faciles à boire, en général très peu acides, faibles en couleur et en alcool, aux arômes de fruits rouges comme la framboise, de fruits secs et de fleurs blanches.

©2019 Château Belvèze.